UFTI Student Deja Jackson Selected as an ENO fellow and a Traffic Safety Scholar

Congratulations to Deja Jackson for being invited to the 26th Annual Eno Future Leaders Development Conference in Washington, D.C.! This is the first time Jackson, who is pursuing an Ph.D. in Civil and Coastal Engineering, has been accepted to attend the conference – each year, 20 different individuals are accepted as Eno Fellows and invited to the conference. The Future Leaders Development Conference provides a first-hand look at how transportation policy is developed and implemented. Dr. Siva Srinivasan is Jackson’s advisor.

“All in all, I’m excited to have been selected as an ENO Fellow, and I’m looking forward to attending the conference in May. This will be the perfect opportunity to see first-hand how things like the research that we do on the university level ultimately influences and translates into solutions on the national level via transportation policies. I can’t wait to interact with and to pick the brains of transportation policy makers and others regarding the topic of transportation policy in hopes of gaining valuable insight that will add to my dissertation and to help guide my career path.”

Additionally, Jackson was recently named a 2018 Traffic Safety Scholar (TSS) and awarded a $1,000 scholarship to attend the 37th annual National Lifesavers Conference on Highway Safety Priorities, April 22-24, in San Antonio, TX. Jackson is one of 50 U.S. and international college students selected through a competitive application process. The Lifesavers Conference showcases the latest research, evidence-based strategies, proven countermeasures, and promising new approaches for addressing the nation’s most pressing traffic safety problems.

Congratulations Deja!