UFTI Director

UFTI Director


Dr. Lily Elefteriadou, UFTI Director & Professor
Dr. Lily Elefteriadou, UFTI Director and Barbara Goldsby Professor of Civil Engineering

Lily Elefteriadou, Ph.D., is the Director of the UF Transportation Institute (UFTI) and Barbara Goldsby Professor of Civil Engineering at the University of Florida. Her research focus is traffic operations, traffic flow theory and simulation. She is the principal investigator of the US Department of Transportation-funded Regional University Transportation Center for Region 4, also known as the Southeast Transportation Research Innovation Development and Education, or (STRIDE), which focuses on reducing congestion and addresses research, education, technology transfer and workforce development for transportation. Dr. Elefteriadou has served as the principal investigator for several other federal and state projects funded by the National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP), the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Federal Highway Administration (FHA), Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) and the Federal Department of Transportation (FDOT). She has authored or co-authored more than 200 publications and reports related to traffic operational quality and highway design, as well as a textbook titled “Introduction to Traffic Flow Theory.” She serves on the editorial board of the Transportation Research: Part B and she is a former Chair of the Transportation Research Board’s Highway Capacity and Quality of Service Committee. She is also a past President of the Executive Board of the Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC). 

Dr. Elefteriadou’s CV is located here.

Primary Research Area 

Transportation Engineering 

Research Interests 

Traffic flow theory, traffic simulation and signal control optimization 


  • B.S., Surveying, and Environmental Engineering, (five-year program) Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece, June 1987
  • M.S., Civil Engineering, Auburn University, Auburn, Alabama, June 1990
  • Ph.D., Transportation Planning and Engineering, NYU Polytechnic University, New York, June 1994 

Awards & Distinctions 

  • 2023 AAAS Lifetime Fellow

  • 2021 ARTBA S.S. Steinberg Award

  • 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award, Center for Urban Science and Progress (CUSP), Tandon School of Engineering, NYU

  • 2019 ASCE Harland Bartholomew Award 

  • 2018 University of Florida Term Professorship Award 

  • 2015 ASCE James Laurie Prize 

  • 2015 ARTBA Ethel S. Birchland Lifetime Achievement Award 

  • 2010 Best Model Development Paper Award, for the paper‚ “Driver Behavior Based Lane-Changing Model and Its Implementation in CORSIM,” Joint 

  • Subcommittee on Traffic Simulation, Transportation Research Board, January 2010 

  • Fulbright Scholar‚ “Technical University Delft, Netherlands, September,” December 2001