UFTI Affiliate Receives Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

Dr. Michele Manuel is an associate professor in the UF Department of Materials Science and Engineering as well as a UFTI affiliate. She has been a faculty member at UF since 2008 and has worked on a variety of projects, from enhancing transportation infrastructure components to developing advanced clothing for long-duration space missions.

On February 18, 2016, she was recognized as one of 105 recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers by President Barack Obama. It is the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. The winners will receive their awards at a Washington, DC ceremony this spring.

“These early-career scientists are leading the way in our efforts to confront and understand challenges from climate change to our health and wellness,” President Obama said. “We congratulate these accomplished individuals and encourage them to continue to serve as an example of the incredible promise and ingenuity of the American people.”

The Presidential Early Career Awards highlight the key role that the Administration places in encouraging and accelerating American innovation to grow our economy and tackle our greatest challenges. This year’s recipients are employed or funded by the following departments and agencies: Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, Department of Education, Department of Energy, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of the Interior, Department of Veterans Affairs, Environmental Protection Agency, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation, and the Intelligence Community. These departments and agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America’s preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies’ missions.

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.

Original press release from the Office of the Press Secretary



Michele V. Manuel, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department of Materials Science & Engineering
E-mail: mmanuel@mse.ufl.edu
Website: http://www.materialsdesigngroup.com/
Phone: (352) 846-3780