Deja Jackson Named a 2017 Lifesavers Traffic Safety Scholar

University of Florida Transportation Institute (UFTI) student Deja Jackson was named a 2017 Traffic Safety Scholar (TSS) and awarded a $1,000 scholarship to attend the 35th Annual National Lifesavers Conference on Highway Safety Priorities, March 25-28 in Charlotte, NC.  Jackson, who is pursuing a Ph.D. in civil engineering, is one of 38 U.S. and Canadian college students selected through a competitive application process.  The Lifesavers Conference showcases the latest research, evidence-based strategies, proven countermeasures, and promising new approaches for addressing the nation’s most pressing traffic safety problems.

This was the second year of the Traffic Safety Scholars program, which provides college students pursuing undergraduate and graduate degrees the opportunity to attend the Lifesavers Conference, which is the largest gathering of traffic safety professionals in the U.S. The goal of the TSS program is to showcase the diversity of opportunities in traffic safety and encourage students, regardless of discipline, to pursue a career in a dynamic field that draws from a variety disciplines from engineering, education, and enforcement to communications, business, marketing, medicine, public health, political science, counseling, and more.

Jackson and her fellow Traffic Safety Scholars were honored at a pre-conference reception on March 24, 2017, in Charlotte, where they were welcomed by Jana Simpler, director of the Delaware Office of Highway Safety and Chair of the Governors Highway Safety Association; Rick Birt, vice president of Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD); and John Ulczycki, vice president of Legislative Affairs for LMG Holdings, Inc., and Chairman of the Lifesavers Board of Directors.

To learn more about the Lifesaver Conference and the TSS program, visit http://www.lifesavers